Home / Holistic therapies / Yoga / Types of Yoga / Ayurveda yoga

Ayurveda yoga

The practice of Ayurveda yoga is based on an ancient Indian holistic medical system which has been practised for more than 5000 years.

Ayurveda yoga works on the principle that everything in the universe, including people, is composed of five basic elements:

  • Space
  • Air
  • Fire
  • Water
  • Earth
The five elements combine to produce three bio-physical forces - Vata (air & space), Pitta (fire & water) and Kapha (water & earth).

We each have all three bio-physical forces within us, but the dominance of these forces affects our individual constitution. Practitioners of Ayurvedic Yoga believe that it is only when the body has become healthy that we can reach a state of tranquillity, which is our natural equilibrium.

The aim is to bring natural order and balance to our neuro-hormones and metabolism, improving endocrine metabolism. Adherents see this as a natural way to treat stress and stress-related disorders - the exercises thus have both a preventive and a curative value.

Sessions combine Asanas, Pranayama and meditation. Asanas are the physical positions which strengthen muscles, improve flexibility, and lead to a wonderful feeling of rejuvenation.

Pranayama (breathing exercise) increase vitality, stimulate your metabolism and improve blood circulation. At the end of a class is a time for relaxation and meditation, which helps promote inner peace, happiness and tranquillity.




Related articles :


Other related pages :


Lifestyle quizzes :

» Ins & outs of yoga
» Coping with stress?
» Vitamins for health
» Spa knowledge
» Eating organic

» Lifestyle quizzes

Holistic therapy
The basics
Types of Yoga
Ashtanga yoga
Ayurveda yoga
Bikram yoga
Hatha yoga
Iyengar yoga
Kundalini yoga
Meditation & Yoga
Prenatal yoga
Yoga equipment
Yoga accessories
Yoga courses
Yoga holidays
Subscribe to our newsletter here. Submit your email below and choose from the options on the next page.